Visitors 2834
156 photos

Hydrogen Alpha Emission Line Images by John Gleason

The images in these galleries are a compilation of work completed across 60 months from 2 hemispheres. Northern hemisphere images were acquired from Fremont Peak California, about 70 miles south of San Jose - a popular destination for SF Bay Area observers and imagers. Southern hemisphere images were taken from the “Sky Shed Observatory” located in Coonabarabran, New South Wales, Australia. Owned and operated by my friend Steve Lee, he graciously hosts and maintains my equipment under a spectacular southern night sky just a few kms from the world class Siding Springs Observatory.

In the tradition of Hans Vehrenberg and Shigemi Numazawa, (authors of “The Atlas of Deep sky Splendors, and “The Deep Sky”), I have embarked on a photographic quest to produce a new CCD atlas of hydrogen alpha images of the most popular northern and southern hemisphere emission nebulae. As noted, all images are acquired with the Takahashi, FSQ 105mm F/5 flat field refractor and reproduced here at the same image scale. Either the SBIG STL11000M, or FLI Proline 16803 CCD cameras were employed for all imaging with the FSQ. A 6nm bandpass filter isolated on 656.6 nm, mfg by Don Goldman, is used for all images.

By day John Gleason is a Product Manager for Hewlett-Packard’s desktop consumer PC business in Cupertino, California. He has been imaging the night sky since 1974.


Featured Galleries & Collections

Riverland Dingo Observatory

Visitors 1227
33 photos
Riverland Dingo Observatory


Recently Added

FLI Image Updates

Visitors 269
7 photos
FLI Image Updates

Riverland Dingo Observatory

Visitors 1227
33 photos
Riverland Dingo Observatory

Southern Hemisphere Hydrogen Alpha Objects

Visitors 904
73 photos
Created 6-Jul-10
Modified 6-Jul-10
Southern Hemisphere Hydrogen Alpha Objects

Northern Hemisphere Hydrogen Alpha Objects

Visitors 1276
43 photos
Northern Hemisphere Hydrogen Alpha Objects


All Photographs

Southern Hemisphere Hydrogen Alpha Objects

Visitors 904
73 photos
Created 6-Jul-10
Modified 6-Jul-10
Southern Hemisphere Hydrogen Alpha Objects

Northern Hemisphere Hydrogen Alpha Objects

Visitors 1276
43 photos
Northern Hemisphere Hydrogen Alpha Objects

Riverland Dingo Observatory

Visitors 1227
33 photos
Riverland Dingo Observatory

FLI Image Updates

Visitors 269
7 photos
FLI Image Updates